> ## Knowledge Base Index
> Fetch the complete knowledge base index at: https://support.sonas.events/sitemap.xml
> Use this file to discover available pages before exploring further.
> Pure-Markdown content can be obtained by appending a '.md' suffix to the content URLs listed in the sitemap (without the trailing slash).

# How to Give Planning Portal Access from the People Section

Every enquiry and event in Sonas has a People Section. This is where you mange the customers associated with events, including their email access and planning portal access. This article will show you how to give a customer access to the Planning Portal. 

For information on the People Section as a whole, please see [How to Use the People Section](/en/article/how-to-use-the-people-section-1g5e0ot)

## When Do You Need This?

During the pre-confirmation process, you can select a welcome email on step one to automatically grant planning portal access. If you skip this step or leave it as "None", the customers will **not** receive access automatically. You can tell access was not granted by checking the key icons in the People section — **red key icons** mean no access has been given.

In this case, you can grant access after the fact by following the steps below. This is a common scenario when events are confirmed in a non-standard order or when the welcome email is not selected during pre-confirmation. Once access is granted, customers can accept contracts, report payments, and manage their guest list via the planning portal.

## Video Tutorial

${youtube}[Video](7cYBPLY5XTM)

## How to Add Planning Portal Access to a Customer

1.  Click on the individual's name that you want to add access for. 
2.  Go to **Actions > Give Access**
3.  Click **Save**
4.  Select the welcome email you want sent. This email will provide login instructions. Welcome emails are managed in Venue Templates.
5.  Click **Give Access** to Save.
6.  A pop up will appear to confirm that you in fact want to give access, click **OK**.
7.  You will be redirected to the People Section main page and you will see the key icon is now Green, indicating access. 

> Please note: the sent link is valid for 30 days. If you send a new link, it invalidates any previously sent links.